Share your thoughts

Do you have a story idea for us? Share it with us.


Following his outsanding 2009 season, Millbrook junior Justus Hoffmann was named the Cap-7 Conference's Defensive Player of the Year.

Cap-7 releases All-Conference football honors Monday
WF-R's Trea Jones receives Player of the Year award

Two days after the Heisman trophy was awarded to the best running back on the best college team — Alabama's Mark Ingram — the Cap-7 Conference released it's awards Monday morning, including the league's Player of the Year honors.

And like the Heisman, the Cap-7 coaches also voted to award the best running back on the best team with the league's highest accolade.

After leading the Wake Forest-Rolesville football team to an undefeated regular-season, and its second straight 4-AA Eastern Regional appearance, Trea Jones was named the league's Player of the Year.

Although a leg injury kept him from competing in the Eastern Regional showdown — rematch — with Fayetteville Jack Britt Dec. 4, Jones' outstanding regular season, which included 17 touchdowns and more than 1,600 yards, made him a more than deserving choice.

Enloe's David Highsmith III received the Cap-7's Offensive Player of the Year honors following an equally impressive season, rushing for more than 1,500 yards and 16 touchdowns in just 11 games.

Building on an impressive sophomore campaign, Millbrook junior linebacker Justus Hoffmann, a 6-foot-1, 240-pounds tackling machine, was named the league's Defensive Player of the Year.

Leesville Road kick/punter Chris Hawthorne also received the Special Teams Player of the Year honors after an outstanding 2009 season. The senior was busy this fall, helping both the Pride's football and soccer teams advance to the playoffs.

As for the remaining members of the All-Conference teams, released by Wakefield head coach J.D. Dinwiddie Monday, they are:

Broughton— Drew Davis, Bill Cannady, Tyler Smith, Jeff Moore, Anthony Colon, Jamel Kirton, Chris Mangus, Colin Summers and Jerry Randolph

Enloe — David Highsmith III, Qwen Yarborough, Josh Jenkins and Taurean Lynch


Leesville Road — Chris Hawthorne, Bradley Moody (pictured), Dylan Edwards, Kirk Lincoln, Nate Wooten, Brandon Pittman, Thurston Cox-Keyes and Joey Buccola

Millbrook — Justus Hoffmann, Scott Gray, Michael Thornton (pictured), Jarrick Feaster, Austin Merritt, Jacob Shaner, Keith Marshall and Caleb High


Sanderson — Matt James (pictured), Austin Haily and Brandon McCain

Wake Forest-Rolesville — Trea Jones, Dylan Intemann, Ryan Doyle, James Harris, Dan Tomchik, Marcus Jones, Will Braddy, Tim McGuire, Hunter Williams, Darren Kirby and Fabian Seabrooks


Wakefield — Alex Starnes, Denzel Brown, Nigel King, Michael Gubbins, Matt Yovanovich, Moises Ramirez (pictured; No. 53) and Niklas Sade